October 29, 2012

Treehouse Launches Young Professional’s Board

We are pleased to announce the formation of Treehouse’s first Young Professionals Board! The new Board is comprised of 25 emerging local leaders representing a diverse range of industries and affiliations. YPB members will serve on Treehouse Board and event committees, participate in fundraising initiatives and events, and engage in community outreach efforts to increase awareness and support for Treehouse and its programs.

“We are thrilled to welcome our first class of Young Professional Board Members and look forward to the array of talents and skills they bring in support of Treehouse at this exciting time,” commented CEO Janis Avery. “As we prepare to celebrate our 25th Anniversary next year, and serve twice the number of youth over the next five years, we are deeply grateful for the energy and commitment of these young professionals during this period of growth.”

Board Member Steve Petersen (Northern Trust), Board Member Maria Olagunju (CBRE), Jeremy Pelley (Apex Learning), and Andrea Pollock (Microsoft) will serve in YPB Leadership positions as President, President Elect, Community Engagement Chair, and Fund Development Chair, respectively.

“I am thrilled to have the opportunity to work alongside such an amazing group of individuals as we assist Treehouse and the governance board in its goal to ensure that foster youth in King County graduate at the same rate as their peers,” commented Steve Petersen, Treehouse Board Member and YPB President. “I look forward to all that we will accomplish together as we work to advance the agency’s mission in the community.”

The activities of YPB Board Members will play an important role in our ability to secure new funding and investments to ensure that foster youth graduate from high school with a plan for their future. It’s with great enthusiasm that we welcome our new Young Professional Board members, and thank them for their service!

Click here to see a complete list of Treehouse Young Professionals Board Members.